Today it is common practice for many business meetings and business training to take place online. Do the advantages of this new development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, a large number of organizations are conducting their seminars and training activities through an aid of the internet. While there are few disadvantages, the benefits it offers outnumber the demerits.

To begin with, it is a time efficient method. With an aid of internet, company can arrange meetings with other counterparts located far away from their location. As a result, a need of time in travelling can be minimized significantly, which is fruitful for all the national and international parties attending the meeting. Furthermore, this method is financially economical as the money that would be essential for travelling and accommodation costs could be saved. Moreover, fares for venue hire, lunch, coffee and other unavoidable needs would not be possible to save if all the business participants or trainees were asked to assemble at a venue. That is why these days most of the business discussions are held by exploiting the internet.

On the other hand, there is always chance of leaking out valuable information while adopting this mean. In other words, many hackers can easily watch all the activities without being noticed; consequently, there is chance of revelation of the crucial data and information. For example, the video conference of Apple Company and Screen Touch Software Organization was leaked in the market by the hackers, which resulted in the disclosure of the display technology benefiting many other rival smartphone companies. Nonetheless, this issue can be combatted using security measures such as a VPN technology, which ensures the exchange of information is among the registered computers only.

In conclusion, holding meeting, seminar, conference, and training by sharing the distantly located computer screens saves both time and money; hence, an increasingly large number of businesses are employing this method. Even though there are concerns about its reliability, VPN technology can be incorporated to keep hackers away.