Some people think that a law should exist so that young people under 18 cannot be out after the midnight, others think it should not be. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been raging debate that young people under 18 should be prohibited to venture out post-midnight. Some experts believe that there should be a strict law for all young people, while some believe otherwise. I personally believe that there should not be any restrictions levied. In this essay, we will argue both the views using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the on hand, there is ample evidence that states that young people under 18 should no roam around the city post-midnight. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, young people under 18 are said to be naïve and hence they tend to fall prey to bad habits like alcohol and drugs which are easily available in parties or clubs. For example, recent research by Hindustan Times states that cases of young people under 18 in drunk driving and overdose of drugs has accelerated by 15% over last 2 years. Secondly, city is very quiet and deserted post-midnight which makes it very easy for kidnapping or hurting young people who are roaming out alone in the city. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that young people alone by themselves should not be allowed to roam around freely in the night.

On the other hand, many experts debate that putting restrictions on young people is not the solution, but implementing strict laws for offenders is necessary. We are living in a free world where people have a right to move around freely especially young people who are very eager to explore life. Instead of putting restriction on young people, the government should ensure safety of them by implementing strict laws like not serving alcohol in parties to people under age of 18 years. In case of violation, strict action should be taken against night clubs. Similarly, strong law should be levied against drug peddlers and smugglers so that drugs are not supplied. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University states that countries like Japan and China has low crime rate across all age people as they have strict laws. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that putting restrictions is not the solution.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that it is a fundamental right of every citizen to move around freely in his/her city at any time. By imposing law will only create unrest among people. However, in order to control the crime rate and mishaps, government has a right to impose strict law for its citizen.