People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Are there more advantages than disadvantages to such services?

Thanks to technology and its invention, learning a new language in a short duration is no longer a myth. However, few people believe that using online app for language translations has both pros and cons. This essay will state both sides of argument with examples.

Firstly, people can now travel to any country without stressing over the communication with the locals due to the language barrier. All thanks to the ever fast evolving technology which has created online language translation apps. Today, we have plethora of apps option available on our smart phones that can easily help individuals to communicate in any foreign language. To exemplify, as per the Travel Guide research states that traveler's today extensively used GOOGLE translation app to converse with locals whenever they travel to foreign land. In fact, as per the research, 50% of travelers feel more confident in roaming freely as they do not have to rely on local guides for communicating with locals. Hence, it can be surmise that online language translation apps have made travelers life easy.

Conversely, using any online translation apps can be time consuming as people will have to type every time before they can communicate. Additionally, translations on the app may not be all the time accurate, thus creating misunderstanding and awkwardness. To illustrate further, Indian Tech World conducted a survey and the findings show that translation app solely depend on how the people speak to the app for translating and 3 out of 4 times the app doesn’t provide the accurate translation due to the speaking and pronunciation style. Furthermore, due to the online apps the language coaching classes has seen decelerated in their profits as people now do not visit coaching classes to learn new foreign language. Therefore, it can be said that people using online apps cannot learn a new language as compared to people who study in coaching classes.

To recapitulate, though online apps advantages outweigh the disadvantages, but learning through a tutor or coaching classes does have a long term benefit.