Nowadays most green energy is becoming ever more prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the last few years use of renewable energy has gain importance. Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated whether green houses help in reducing costs and conserving environment or are considered a serious threat to energy security. This essay will argue both the views however, personally I strongly agree that use of renewable energy resource as it has several benefits.

On the one hand there are people who argue that renewable energy/ green houses are not dependable. The central reason behind this is that renewable energy depends on external factors like sun, wind and water and in case of bad weather conditions there could be a disturbance in the power supply. For example, solar panels can generate electricity only during the day time as they function because of sunlight hence during a cloudy day or during monsoons the electricity generation would be difficult. Hence relying on only renewable energy is not considered to be steady.

On the other hand renewable energy/green houses uses natural resources which are infinite and not use resources like oil and fossil fuels which are finite in quantity. Green houses are considered to environmental friendly this is largely because as it does not release CO2 gases which in turn aggravates global warming. Also, green houses helps in reducing cost of the energy thus making it affordable for people. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University showed that over countries like Iceland who survive on renewable energy / green houses are considered to be less polluted and do not suffer from adverse climate change. Thus it is possible to state beyond doubt that renewable energy helps in preserving the depleting resources like fossil fuels and also helps in conserving the environment.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that green energy has positive effects on environment. It is predicted that in near future the importance of renewable energy and saving finite resources will increasingly grow in importance.