Some people believe that there will be a reduction in air travel in the future. Do you think that this trend is a positive or negative development?

Lately, we have seen a drastic shift in the way people travel. There are numerous reasons behind this shift and some economists believe that this change will reduce the number of travellers by airplanes. In the following paragraphs we will share the reasons for the reduction and the positive and negative development of this trend.

Last two decades ago, some people preferred to travel either by airplane or train. This was due to unconstructed roads that were connecting cities which made road travelling a nightmare for travellers. However, today the urban development commission have ensured that all cities highway roads are constructed which in turn makes the travellers experience memorable and reduces the chances of road mishaps. Furthermore, today younger generation who are travel enthusiast and crave for adventure prefers to travel by road i.e. either via bikes or cars as they can enjoy the scenic beauty which is not possible in airplanes. Additionally, due to the technology advancement, countries have introduced Bullet trains. These trains reduce the travel time by 50% compared to the passenger trains and are also economical in cost compared to the airplanes. To exemplify, a bullet train named Gareeb Rath is introduced from Mumbai to Ahmedabad in India. Ahmedabad is famous for manufacturing of fabrics and cloth traders from Mumbai often travel to Ahmedabad for business. Statistic shows that post the introduction of the bullet train, there has been considerable decline in airplane bookings as most of the traders opted for bullet train.

Another key reason why people assume reduction in air travel in near future is due to the air ticket price which have drastically increased over the years due to the increase in the fuel prices. Over couple of years the crude prices have undoubtedly increased and in order to keep up with the economy the airline companies had to alter their fare prices which subsequently has affected their business.

To recapitulate, basis the above reason, it is derived that reduction in air travel will have a negative effect on the airline industry, however, it will not affect the travel industry and the country’s economy as there are alternate modes of transportation developed to meet the needs of the various class of people.