Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals. Education and skills training should be used instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since last couple of years, many people have discussed on alternates to prison punishment. Few experts believe that instead of prison sentences, education and development of skills should be used to deal with criminals. While few experts opine otherwise.

Firstly, there are many petty criminals who commit crimes due to their weak financial situation. To illustrate, Hindustan Times recently released an article on how poor people end up committing crimes like theft or pick pocketing as they need money for survival. Imprisonment will tarnish their records and will have a negative effect on them for lifelong. Such criminals, can be send for counselling sessions which will educate them between right and wrong. They can even be sent for social work where they can attain mental peace and at the same time earn money for their living. Furthermore, experts suggest that individual's who commit petty crime should not be imprisoned with criminals who commit hideous crime like rape, murder or robbery; as they might get influence and commit sever crimes in future when released from the prison.

Conversely, if criminals are not punished for their crimes then undoubtedly, the fear of law and order will vanish among them. Psychologist claims that criminals who commit gruesome crimes are mentally disturb and no education or skill training will change their perspective. In fact, such criminals will end up committing more crime which in turn will accelerate the crime rate in the country. Subsequently, citizens of the country might not feel safe as they know that there criminals who are roaming freely in the city.

I partially agree with experts who believe that education and skill development might help one-time criminals to change their attitude. However, the above suggestion can’t be followed for criminals who commit serious crimes. For such criminals capital punishment can be considered as they cannot be set free.

To recapitulate, not all criminals should be judge on the same platform. There has to be different outlook towards serial criminals and the one-timers.