With internet improvements, people can share views or opinions on certain goods or services that they have purchased. Is this a good or a bad thing? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Couple of years ago, the only way people could share their feedback about a product or service was through word of mouth. However, today, internet has provided us a platform which provides us plethora of options where in consumers can share their experiences. Some experts believe that this change is good while some contradicts. In the following paragraphs we will discuss both the view.

Firstly, it is undeniable fact that internet has revolutionized the business especially Retail and Service sector. Today, we are not only able to shop online through various sites but also able to share our views about the products and services. This change has aided both consumers and companies. To exemplified, In India there is a very well-known cosmetics website named as Nykaa, this website hosts wide range of products of various brands. People who shop from this website are asked to share their feedback along with rating of the purchased product. This way the consumer can share positive or negative feedback which in turn is visible to all the new shoppers who are exploring to buy the product. It is a great advantage for the company, as it gets first-hand information about the product directly through the end user. This helps the company to make amelioration to the products if required which in turn helps them to accelerate their profits.

Conversely, there are cons as well to this revolution. It has been found that not all reviews or comments are genuine. A recent survey conducted on the reviews of a shopping website stated that there are about 30% of reviews posted by the consumers are hoax. Few expert believe that such steps are taken by rival companies in order to hamper the sale of the product. Subsequently, there are few cases reported wherein the company publishes positive comments via consumers who have never purchased products in order to boost their sale.

In my opinion, sharing views about the product has made consumers life easy. It makes shopping experience enjoyable as the reviews helps the consumer to purchase the right product. To share my experience- recently I visited Amazon website to buy a Bluetooth speaker. As there were plenty options available on the website, the consumer feedback and the rating help me to narrow down my option.

To reiterate, internet has open doorway of opportunities and helped in making the shopping experience wonderful. However, a consumer has to be vigilant while purchasing products as not all reviews are honest.