Shopping has become a new favourite pastime for younger generation. Why is this the case? Should we encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

It is an undeniable fact that shopping is one of the favourite alternatives for passing time not only for teenagers but also for adults. Looking at the current trend, young generations chooses shopping over other productive activities. In this essay I shall discuss why shopping is gaining popularity and what are its pros and cons.

Firstly, shopping is considered one of the great options for curbing stress. Today, students are burden with academic studies and projects due to competition and this creates stress and anxiety in them. Similarly, young working professionals who are part of corporate world also undergo stress due to work and in order to achieve a work life balance. As per few psychologist, people who indulge in shopping on regular basis are found to be much happier with relatively low stress levels. Also, shopping with family or friends, makes the relationship stronger and creates memories which can be cherished for lifelong. Furthermore, due to globalization, today we have quite a few famous international brands available in shopping malls. In order to attract more customers and accelerate their sales, these international brands tend to come with lucrative offers which attracts the young working professionals who likes to be trendy. As per recent survey, young generations themselves more than once in a month, as they like to flaunt their lifestyle and uplift their status in front of their rich friends or family.

Conversely, there are flip side to this as well. Since young generations are more incline towards shopping, they do not occupy themselves in other productive activities or hobbies which in turn help in building up their personality. Few psychologist claims that people who do pick up an activity or hobby tend to become lazy and less creative. Additionally, young generations end up spending their hard money in shopping which in turn could have been saved for their bright future. In my opinion should encourage the young people to develop hobbies as it is a great way to learn new things and also definitely a cheaper way to eliminate stress from life.

To recapitulate, we should encourage young people to develop new hobbies as this will help them to realise their strengths and weakness. Also, educate them that shopping shouldn’t be the favourite pastime but should be considered as a necessity.