Many sports players advertise sports-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is an incontrovertible truth that sports players has humongous fan falling across the globe. Today, many sports companies like to choose players as their brand ambassadors. Few people believe that are pros as well cons of this. In the following paragraphs I shall present advantages and disadvantages of sports players advertising sports products.

Firstly, sports has always been an integral part of people’s life. However, sports has gained more importance over the last couple of years, thanks to the international sports events like Olympics, World cup, Formulae 1 racing and so on. Recent Harvard research states, that most of the youths in any country are sports fanatic, and like to follow foot-steps of their favourite sports player. Looking at the research, sports companies like to hire sports players as their mascot and signs up a contract for endorsing their products. Today, we see a quite few advertisement in which players share their stories or reviews of the company products and suggest the consumers to buy their products. Such advertisement help to attract more customers and in turn helps the company to accelerate their profits. Furthermore, by buying the sports product, it encourages the buyer to use it which in turn helps him/her to stay fit. A recent research conducted by Indian government states that people who follow a sports player not only purchases the sports gears that the player endorses but also use the gear on regular basis.

Conversely, there negative sides to the above. Athletes, who are weightlifters, wrestlers or boxers consume steroids or protein that are harmful to health. Guileless youth who fan follow the athletes and also would like to pursue career in the above mentioned sports end up taking the harmful medicine or protein powder which not only affects their physical health but also their mental health. A recent research done by Sports Federation of India, showcase that 4 out 5 youth end up taking harmful medicine like steroid as they like to achieve fast result; but end up risking their life.

To recapitulate, there are positives and negatives, however, sports players have to be mindful of product they are endorsing.