Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, others believe that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a raging debate on whether school children should be given homework or children should they indulge in play when at home. This essay will argue both the sides using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the one hand, many experts and parents believe that school teachers should avoid giving homework post school. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, the current academic curriculum is very vast and intense. In order to cope up with studies, children are already under a lot of stress and mental pressure, and giving homework will only aggravates the situation. Secondly, psychologist claims that for overall growth of the child, play time is also important as it makes the child active and stress-free. For example, recent empirical research by the Oxford University demonstrates that children indulging in sports or creative activities do not suffer from stress or depression compared to children who are spending their free time doing school homework. In fact, sports and other creative activities helps to build their creative side and helps children to learn various attributes like the meaning of failure, success and team-work through a fun way compared to learning teachings in the classroom. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that homework adds on to stress.

On the other hand, few parents believe that giving homework is beneficial, as, homework makes the child an independent learner. This is because, while doing the homework the child has to summarize all the learnings learned during the class which , and encourages the child to apply enhance its their knowledge. Additionally, homework makes the child independent and helps in building a problem solving attitude, which helps them when they join the corporate world. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that homework helps the child to recap all the learnings and encourages the child to think independently.

From the arguments and examples given, I firmly believe that there should be a balance between homework and play-time, as both are beneficial for the overall development of the children. In fact, teachers should make sure that homework should not take away most free time of the children, because playing also adds value to the growth of the children.