Some people believe that elderly employees are more useful to a company, while others believe that young employees are better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world would have debated if elderly employees or young employees are better. This essay will discuss both the views using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence that states that there is a need for senior employees in this over competitive and ever changing business world. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, senior experienced employees bring in expertise, knowledge and wisdom that are essential for running a successful business. Secondly, the years of experienced gather by the senior employees helps them to handle crisis and evade losses if any, compared to young employees who do not possess experience. For example, recent empirical research by the UK Government demonstrated that companies are looking for experienced senior staff hence employees age 55 and above within the working population will increase by 19% to 35% by 2030. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that senior employee’s maturity, experience, and wisdom not only helps in day-to-day functioning but also in building strategies for companies.

On the other hand, although senior experienced employees bring in expertise but young talents are equally important for companies. This is largely because, young talents are well versed with the latest technologies and development that are essential for running the companies. Also, young talents come with an open mind-set which can be easily moulded compared to senior experienced employees who are said to possess quite rigid mind-set. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University showed that young talents in companies are said to adapt quickly to the change management and show signs of progress compared to senior employees. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that young talents are hungry for knowledge and carry an open mind-set to take risk and try new alternatives for conducting business.

To conclude, I firmly believe that a company can be successful when it has a right mix of cognitive diversity. Today, the success that we have achieved in art, sports, business and science is due to the right mix of employees working together in a one cohesive unit. Thus, the best way to improve the company performance is by having the right mix of young and experienced employees.