Some people think that the Olympics is no longer important in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world would have debated whether Olympics event is important or is no longer important. Personally, I strongly agree that Olympics is a great platform to unite the countries. This essay will argue both the sides, using examples from the Oxford University to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the one hand there is ample evidence that Olympics is beneficial to the players and the hosting country. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, there are many talented athletes across the globe whose talent gets unnoticed. Olympics provides the platform to such athletes to showcase their talents and achieve fame for themselves and their country. Also, sports is a great medium to create harmony and reduce political tension between rival countries. Secondly, the country that host Olympics event, gains popularity and attracts tourist which in turn accelerates per capita income of the economy. For example, recent empirical research by the UK Government demonstrated that the tourism industry of countries that hosted Olympics increase by 40% as the media showcase the countries major attraction. Therefore it is conclusively clear that Olympics is just not an international sport event, but also has several benefits attached to it.

On the other hand the host country has to ensure security of athletes, coaches, their families and of tourists as such international event is prone to terrorist attack like bomb blast or shoot outs. Also, some people believe that countries spend a large amount of money in making stadiums in order to host such a large scale event which is organized only once in 4 years. However, after the event the stadium is vacant and additional money is spend on yearly basis for its maintenance, which otherwise could have been spend for more alarming situations like drought, epidemics, water crisis and so on. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University showed that developing countries in order to attract attention spend money on constructing stadiums for Olympic and after the event are unable to maintain the stadium due to lack of funds. Thus it is possible to state beyond doubt that international event like Olympics attract lot of cost.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that, even though hosting Olympics is an expensive affair, but the advantages of the event outweighs the disadvantages. It is predicted that the international sports events will increasingly grow in importance.