Nowadays we can see definite signs of surplus production in almost every industry sector, and this is leading to environmental damage. What are some possible solutions to this situation?

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated on the ever increasing production of items in every industry sector. Many believe that production of surplus products is leading to environmental hazards and personally I strongly agree with it. This essay with discuss the issues using examples and a few suggestions.

On one hand there is ample evidence that states that the production of goods in ever sector like automobiles, electronics and clothing has considerably increased. The hike in production is to meet the ever increasing demand of people. For instance, most people like to buy new mobile phone on yearly basis even though the new model has similar benefits compared to the existing one. For example, an extensive study done by Oxford University states that about 80% of people like to buy new trendy products that possess the latest technology. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that people buy new items on yearly basis in order to keep up with the latest trends.

On the other hand surplus production has a clear repercussion on the environment as most of the items produced are non-degradable in nature and also increase the use of fossil fuels. For example, a recent empirical research by UK government states that the surplus production of vehicles has led to increase in the demand of petroleum thus making it expensive to purchase. In order to mitigate the situation, government can ensure that the products produce are environment friendly that will help to keep the pollution in control and reduce the usage of fossil fuels. For instance, manufacturers can produce cars that run on batteries instead of petroleum thus saving the precious fossil fuels and reduce the contamination. Likewise, the same could be said for electronic items that are eco-friendly and can be disposed without adulterating the environment. Additionally, governments can also run various campaigns and advertisements that showcase the importance of saving the environment and encourage citizens for using eco-friendly products like cloth bags instead of plastic bags and use paper disposable items instead of plastics.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that the awareness needs to be created among people for being mindful and saving the environment. It is predicted that the demand of eco-friendly items will increasingly grow in the future.