Fossil fuels (e.g. coals, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged for use by some countries. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Over the last couple of years, use of renewable source of energy has gained importance. Both the developing and developed world are slowly moving towards alternate sources of energy due to various reasons. In this essay we will discuss the positives and negatives development of this change.

On the one hand although renewable/green energy is gaining popularity, however, it is not the most dependable source for producing energy. This is because renewable energy depends on external factors like sun, wind, water and air. At times during the bad weather, generating energy would be challenging. For example, solar panels generate electricity only during bright sunny day and not during monsoons or cloudy day. Similarly, windmills can function only during good weather and not when it is too windy. Thus, it is possible to say without doubt that due to external factors generating energy through renewable sources is difficult.

On the other hand there is ample evidence that depicts that using of renewable energy over fossil fuels helps in conserving the environment. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, to generate energy, natural resources are used which are infinite in natures versus precious fossil fuels which are finite and are depleting day by day. Secondly, generating energy through renewable sources is cleanest as it just emit CO2 gases which harm and pollute the environment. For example, recent empirical research by WHO sates that countries which uses renewable sources to energy has noticed a drastic difference in their air quality and pollution levels. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that using of alternative sources of energy has more positive sides than negatives.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that this change is considered to be a positive development for the countries and environment. It is predicted that many countries will produce energy through renewable sources.