Fossil fuels (e.g. coals, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged for use by some countries. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

In most of the countries, fossil fuels such as coal, oil and gas are the primary sources of energy. But some nations are taking a step forward to promote the usage of renewable energy sources such as wind, solar and tidal energy. In my opinion, this could be seen as progress due to its positive effect on the environment and saving the limited energy resources for the future.

The main advantage of using a sustainable form of energy is that it is eco-friendly. As we know that the burning of fossil fuels emits toxic gases such as carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide in the air and leads to global warming. Also, it pollutes the air quality and paves the way to severe respiratory health problems. If precautionary measures are not taken to take advantage of natural resources such as sunlight, wind and seas, then time is not far when the whole earth will transform into a boiling pot. Recently, the air quality index of Delhi, the capital city of India has been recorded as 425, which lies in the severe category because of the emission of toxins from private vehicles using fuels. Therefore, the idea of turning to green energy resources is a positive step taken by governments to make the environment pollution-free.

Another benefit of using these limitless sources of energy is that it is renewable as compared to conventional energy resources which are limited. As it takes millions of years to form fossil fuels and the depletion of these is at an alarming rate. Therefore, our heavy reliance on fossil fuels is the biggest threat to the upcoming generation. On the other hand, energy generated by solar panels and windmills is an everlasting source of power. Hence, it is high time that we should support the efforts of the government to protect our critical resources. Finland is a prime example of generating 60% of energy for domestic usage by installing solar panels on the roofs.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that fossil fuels are a popular source of energy across the globe but at the same time, I also believe that the initiatives taken by government authorities to endorse the sustainable energy sources are clearly positive and it should be the global priority to invest in renewable energy projects.