Some people believe that it is important to give gifts to friends and family to show that we care about them. Others think that there are better ways to show that we care. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Everyone feels special and happy when they receive gifts form their loved ones hence giving gifts has become an important aspect of life. On the contrary, few people believe that other than gifts, there are other ways to show affection. I will discuss both the views in the following paragraphs.

The tradition of gifting for special occasions like birthdays, weddings and other events has started from our forefather’s time. Today, we live in a materialistic world where care and affection are measured by the number of gift items received by friends and family. Also, people who live away from loved ones like to shower gifts for every special occasion as it is the best way to show them that they care. To exemplify, Children who live away from their parents, likes to send them gifts on occasion of Father or Mother’s Day or on their anniversary or birthdays, as he cannot celebrate with them inperson.

In contrast, few psychologists believe that gifts are not the appropriate medium to demonstrate love and care. Like taking care and supporting during the time of thick and thin or during illness, demonstrate respect and gratitude. To illustrate further on the above point, a daughter-in-law can show her caring nature by taking care of her in-laws need. Similarly, a son-in-law can do the same thing for his in-laws family. Not only this will not only improve the family relations but also help in strengthen the bond.

In my view, gift is important and should be given for special occasions like birthday, marriages and other events. However, showing respect, care and support is the best way to spreads happiness and to make your loved one feel special.

To recapitulate, gifts make everyone feel special, but at the same time relations improve and get strong through love, care, support and respect.