Nowadays most people are not as fit and active, as they were in the past. What are the main causes of this situation? Suggest some possible solutions.

Over the last couple of years, people are leading a sedentary lifestyle due to various reasons. This essay will state the reasons for inactive lifestyle wand few possible solutions to change the lifestyle.

On the one hand there is ample evidence that depicts that people are leading a deskbound and inactive life. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, we all are living in a competitive world. Due to the competition, people have less time for their wellbeing as they have to extend their working hours and work on weekends. Secondly, due to the hectic work schedule people do not have luxury of time to cook their own healthy food and instead rely on fast food or ready to cook food which are unhealthy in nature. Similarly, youngster are glued to television or video games and do not indulge in a sport or any outdoor activities which makes them sharp and active. To illustrate, a recent empirical research by Oxford University demonstrates that around 30% of youngsters globally suffer from obesity as they like to spend their time playing indoors. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that people today are leading an inactive lifestyle due to work schedule and because of easy availability of unhealthy food.

In order to mitigate the above situation, there are few possible solutions that can help people to change their lifestyle. Corporates can offer gymnasium facility to their employees in their office premises or offer discount coupons of nearby health clubs. Similarly, government in association with famous artists can drive several campaigns showcasing the benefits of healthy eating and leading an active life. For example, Indian Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi in spite of his busy schedule performs yoga for an hour daily and shares his videos with citizens to motivate them. To illustrate further, an extensive study by Oxford University showed that over 50% of people actively participate in campaigns that are addressed by famous artists. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that initiatives and public awareness will help in changing the behaviour of people.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that by creating awareness and showcasing the benefits of leading a fit and healthy lifestyle will make people change their attitude.