Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, others believe that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether students should be allotted study work to complete at home. I believe that homework is essential for a child's growth.

The idea of not giving homework to children is advocated by some parents because they think that post-school studies will put an extra burden on the shoulders of their child. They will not get time to participate in other activities like sports, music and so on, and this can have adverse ramifications on their physical health.

With regard to the former, they believe that the children already spend half of their day in school and asking them to perform the studies while they are at home, will make them bookworm, and as a result, they will start neglecting other outdoor activities which are as important as studies. Child obesity is another concern, they have for their children for ignoring physical activities due to the pressure of homework.

However, the above viewpoint can be rejected because allocating homework to a child will be beneficial for his intellectual growth and can have a disciplined lifestyle. Completing the assignments given by the tutor can help to build the concepts to solve a problem and certainly helps in developing mental strength. Most of the students are afraid of mathematics because of lots of formulas and equations, and if they have not been given study work to solve after school hours, their problem-solving capability will never develop. It has been said that "Practice makes a man perfect". Once they start devoting time for studies at home they will understand the value of education and time as well. Furthermore, this will help them to face any competitive exam with confidence. One proverb states that "As you sow, so shall you reap". So if a child spends a decent amount of time in gathering knowledge then at a later stage he will be rewarded for his efforts.

To conclude, it would not be a wise decision to avoid giving homework to children because it may lead to their bleak future and affects their physical health too.