Some people say that TV advertisements are helpful for viewers, while others disagree. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether TV commercials are useful for viewers or not. I believe it helps people from various points of view.

The idea that TV adverts are not beneficial for the viewers is advocated by the people on the basis of unnecessary spending and consumption of junk food. With regard to the former, television commercials show a variety of products which in turn creates artificial wants in the users' minds. Such wants encourage television watchers to spend their money on useless products. The ultimate aim of advertising is to subtly persuade people to buy things. It is also thought that TV adverts promote junk food which is not healthy for human beings. Children are easily influenced by commercials and then pester their parents to buy certain products. Consuming junk foods like pizza, burgers, and food prepared with white flour are harmful from a health point of view. Obesity is one of the major concerns of eating junk food.

However, the above arguments can be rejected because adverts create general awareness. As far as unnecessary spending is concerned, adverts help people save money by informing them about real bargains. Catalogs and brochures enable people to compare products and services at leisure. If the user does not have time to shop around, he relies on advertising to learn about the new products. As for the idea of junk food, without advertising, people would not be able to make informed choices. After watching TV commercials they now have the idea of what is healthy food and what is junk food. Which in turn changes their whole perception towards junk food.

In conclusion, I agree with the idea that TV commercials are useful for the viewers on the basis of spreading awareness about junk food and provides the capability to bargain with other competitors.