Some people think that the best way to improve road transport safety is to let the driver test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divide on whether the driving test could play a crucial role in improving road vehicle safety. I believe that the security on highways could be improved by improving road infrastructure and time to time medical check-ups.

It is a widely held belief that the effective way to enhance road transport safety is by undergoing driving tests every year, in practice, this is not a cost-effective solution. Evidence for this can be seen in the fact that conducting such tests would put a strain on the government to provide more driving test facilities and more staff. In fact, it would put a financial burden on people who are undertaking these tests. This is because the government would have to spend tax payer's money unnecessarily on arranging test centers to access one's driving skills rather than spending it on healthcare and education, and the same applies to members of the public, who would not want to squander their savings on same tests every year.

In fact, instead of obligatory driving tests annually, the best way to improve transportation security would be by upgrading road infrastructure and timely health check-ups of individuals. With regard to the former, most of the accidents on the highways happen due to poor road conditions. This situation could be improved by widening roads and not leaving any potholes open. Turning to health check-ups, after driving for several years, an individual could encounter serious health issues, such as weak eyesight, which could be a potential threat to driving as one can not see the signals on the road clearly which in turn results in accidents. Not only would this increase protection on highways, but it could also be beneficial for an individual.

In conclusion, road transportation safety could not be improved by undergoing driving tests annually. On the contrary, regular medical inspection and improving road infrastructure would improve safety aspects.