Nowadays most people are not as fit and active, as they were in the past. What are the main causes of this situation? Suggest some possible solutions.

Over the last couple of years, people are leading a sedentary lifestyle due to various reasons. This essay will state the reasons for inactive lifestyle wand few possible solutions to change the lifestyle.

On the one hand there is ample evidence that depicts that people are leading a deskbound and inactive life. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, we all are living in a competitive world. Due to the competition, people have less time for their wellbeing as they have to extend their working hours and work on weekends. Secondly, technology has played a vital role in making people inactive. Compared to yesteryear, today at a click of button we have cabs and food available. People do not have to walk to the nearest taxi stand as they have online cab services available at door steps. Similarly, people do not cook food at home as they prefer to order food online which is easy and affordable. To illustrate, a recent empirical research by Oxford University demonstrates that around 30% of people globally suffer from obesity and other health related issues as they do not indulge in physical activity. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that people today more and more people are leading an inactive lifestyle due to work schedule and because of use of technology.

In order to mitigate the above situation, there are few possible solutions that can help people to change their lifestyle. Corporates can offer gymnasium facility to their employees in their office premises or offer discount coupons of nearby health clubs. Similarly, government in association with famous artists can drive several campaigns showcasing the benefits of leading an active life. For example, Indian Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi in spite of his busy schedule performs yoga for an hour daily and shares his videos with citizens to motivate them. To illustrate further, an extensive study by Oxford University showed that over 50% of people actively participate in campaigns that are addressed by famous artists. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that initiatives and campaigns will create public awareness.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that by creating awareness and showcasing the benefits of leading a fit and healthy lifestyle will make people change their attitude.