People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Are there more advantages than disadvantages to such services?

Thanks to technology learning a new language in a short duration is no longer a myth, just by using an online language translation app. This essay will demonstrate pros and cons of online translation apps, using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

Whether online language translation apps are beneficial to people or not has been a debatable topic since its inception. On the one hand there is ample evidence depicts that people now travel to any foreign land without stressing over the communication with the locals due to language barrier. Couple of years ago, travellers use to carry language translation books whenever they use to travel, thus making it inconvenient for them to carry the book all day long. However, today there are plethora of apps options available like Google translator, Bing translator and iTranslate on smart phones, tabs and laptops that can easily help travellers to communicate in any foreign language. For example, recent empirical research by Oxford University state that 90% travellers use Google Translator app to converse with locals whenever they travel to foreign land. In fact, some travellers also feel confident in roaming freely as they do not have to rely on local guides for communicating with the locals. Therefore it is conclusively clear that that online language translation apps have made travellers life easy.

On the other hand, using any online translation apps can be time consuming as people will have to type every time before they can communicate. Additionally, translations on the apps may not be at all times accurate, thus creating misunderstanding and awkwardness. For example, Indian Tech World magazine conducted a survey and the finding showed that the online translation apps solely depends on how a person speaks to the app for translating and 2 out of 5 times the app does not provide an accurate translation due to different speaking and pronunciation style. It should also take into account that any online translation app will function only when the device (smartphone, tab or laptop) is connected to internet hence making it difficult to use in remote locations where internet connectivity is low.

From the arguments and examples given it is clear that advantage of using online translation apps outweighs the disadvantages. It is also predicted that the usage of these apps will increasingly grow in near future.