Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Over the last couple of years, there has been accelerated demand for products of famous brands due to various reasons. Personally, I see this increase as a negative development.

On the one hand there is ample evidence that depicts that people like to buy luxurious products compared to affordable products. The central reason behind this is, firstly, buying lavish goods are equated with happiness. Secondly, it is a status and style symbol for most of us. For example, a child travelling in a Mercedes car fetches respect and attention from his or her friends. Similarly, people especially youngsters like to treat themselves with expensive brand products post achieving a milestone in their lives. To illustrate, a recent empirical research by Oxford University demonstrates that youngsters like to buy posh products when they excel in their academic or professionally. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that buying luxury products not only guarantees a status but also helps in creating happiness.

On the other hand although branded goods do promise quality, however, the impact of spending an exorbitant amount on products cannot be ignored. For example, Apple iPhone X is of 1000 dollars whereas other well-known electronics brands sell their phone with similar features of iPhone at affordable price. Furthermore, buying expensive goods will affect people’s budget especially middle class people who otherwise could have saved that money and used it for their family and children’s future. Thus it is possible to state beyond doubt that spending money on expensive products isn’t an appropriate decision.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that buying luxurious products are considered to be heavy on the pocket and does not reflect source of happiness. I personally believe that relationship with friends and family are source of happiness and not materialistic things. As materialist things will only provide a short term happiness or content to a person.