Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, it creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a given fact that international tourism is one of the popular and the biggest industry in the world. Some believe that it creates unrest between people, personally I disagree.

On the other hand although international tourism is great way to get acquainted to the countries culture, however, the impact of creating misunderstanding and unrest cannot be ignored. For example, tourist are expected to follow the visiting countries dress code. To illustrate further, Islamic countries like Saudi Arabia and Iraq expect tourist to dress in appropriate attire i.e. cover their head and body. However, misunderstanding arises when tourist do not follow their dress code as per their culture. Similarly, confusion arises when tourist tries to communicate with the locals in their language but ends up communicating incorrectly. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that tourism ends up creating tension.

On the other hand there is ample evidence that states international tourism is not only a great way to understand different cultures, creates harmony and source of livelihood. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, international tourism gives a platform to people to understand, accept and with other country’s unique culture, heritage and values, which in turn creates harmony. Secondly, tourism is a great source of revenue for many country’s especially those who do not have a strong GDP growth. For example, recent empirical research by the UK Government demonstrated that for a few countries 90% revenue for the last fiscal year was generated through international tourism. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that international tourism not only makes people aware about the culture but also adds to the countries revenue.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that international tourism helps in creating harmonious relations between countries and aids in generating revenue. It is predicted that international tourism will increasingly grow in importance in the near future.