Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, it creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this contemporary world, foreign tourism has gained popularity at a large scale. However, it is argued that international travel causes cultural conflicts between tourists and local people. I completely agree with this statement that travelling across the globe paves the way to numerous problems and misunderstandings between different countries. In this essay, I will support my opinion with examples of different cultured food and clothing traditions.

Every country has its own taste in food and eating habits. But sometimes, food preferences may hurt the religious sentiments of people. For instance, Indians worship the cow animal, while cow meat known as beef is consumed regularly in most of the other countries. Therefore, when foreigners visit India and express their urge to eat cow meat, it leads to serious controversy. Seen in this light, it is clear that cultural and religious beliefs associated with cuisines may sometimes lead to offensive arguments.

In addition to this, a lack of understanding of foreign culture and traditional attires may also arise serious issues. As we know, there is a huge difference between a dressing style of different countries, especially advanced English countries and underdeveloped countries. Therefore, when sightseers from different nations particularly, liberal western countries visit Asian countries, then they are expected to dress up decently in religious places such as temples. In the absence of such cultural knowledge, disputes may arise and may affect the relationship between different countries. For example, Budha temple located in Thailand is a prime example, where strict dressing code is followed by temple priests and tourists are expected to dress up appropriately.

To conclude, though international tourism is the leading industry worldwide, at the same time, it is agreed that it is a source of confusion among different cultured excursionists due to the food and clothing differences.