Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world.

Unfortunately, it creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are people who believe that international tourism will create tension between people from different cultures but I completely disagree with this. Meeting people of various culture and tradition will improve the understanding and respect, between host people and the tourist.

On the one hand, it is believed by some that, while international tourism is developing as the biggest industry in the world, it will create tension between people of a different culture. These people argue that it is not necessary for a foreigner to have knowledge of the culture and tradition of the country he or she is visiting. It is possible to gain information by researching, but that would be enough because culture is unique for each region. For example, a country like India has infinite customs and tradition and to understand it from online or library would be nearly impossible. Tourists visiting places without understanding may hurt the feelings of locals unknowingly and may end in rift and misunderstanding.

However, even though people argue that tourism will increase tension, that is not true. I believe that this will increase understanding and respect towards other culture. When a tourist visits a new country, they meet people, local people of that country, they learn, understand and experience the way local people live, eat and follow their tradition. The host people will also have their share of experience in knowing a person from different culture. By helping the tourist and supporting the new person locals will express their respect. By this way all the cultural barriers can be reduced and improve relationships between human.

To conclude, although it is argued by some that growth in the tourism industry will create tension worldwide, in my opinion, this is not true. I believe that tourism will improve relationships between people in different countries.