The advantages of spread of english as a global language outweigh its disadvantages .

Do you agree or disagree ???

English is a universal language today as more than half the countries in the world are using it. Presently, knowing English provides a gateway to the world. While there are many advantages of this trend, however some negatives are present too.

To begin with, a profound understanding with fluency in English is considered to be a hallmark of one's personality with numerous of career opportunities at its doorstep. For instance, become a translator in documentation industry to convert text from a local language to English, or in a tourism sector where the need of the hour is to know English. Another benefit, English provides a solid foundation for people seeking quality education in developed countries and enable them to secure a high-flying career. Additionally, the communication gap between from different countries has narrowed down, with widespread usage of one global langauge and setting standard rules of conversation. This has immensely helped in learning and education as entire world's history is available in one language for everyone. Thus, English plays integral role in everyone's life in one way or the other.

On the other hand, there is no denying that the essence of local language is phasing out, due to increased exposure to English language. With schools and colleges primarily teaching in global language, general population is forgetting their culture. Consequently, their children are shying away from their mother tounge. As a result loss of indigenous dialects of a local area. For instance, tulu a local language in western Karnataka is not used by many and on verge of extinction.

While there are many positives of English language, there are some negatives as well. However, its countless benefits for people and the world in sectors such as education, business, employment eclipse the overuse of English language.