Young people spend their free time in shopping malls. This has negative effect on young people and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Youngsters are observed spending majority of their idle time in shopping centers. While some argue in favour of the trend, others are not in agreement. In my opinion, one should manage free time wisely.

Proponents of the idea believe that youngsters relish experience of shopping in malls as a place to spend their free time. For instance, malls offer host of other leisure activities such as cinema, gaming zones which provide enjoyment. Window shopping is another brilliant method especially for youth to improve their knowledge in style and fashion. Another salient benefit is convenience of finding many commodities such garments, groceries under one roof which help saving time.

Despite above benefits, disadvantages of the trend are equal in number if not more. Families have to allocate a certain budget to meet demand of youngsters which they spend on buying unnecessary items. Additionally younger population is easily lured by irresistible offers and they tend to over spend. For instance, offseason discounts, festive sale looking enticing, however are way of extracting money from youngsters through excessive shopping. In some cases, people unknowingly max out their credit cards. Even though being reminded day in day out by their elders and parents that save funds for their future.

To sum up, increase in spending time in shopping malls has its own benefits and drawbacks for younger population. However, with some guidance from elders and a bit of soul searching will prevent them from becoming shopaholics.