Advertisements are influencing us in a negative way.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Adverts persuade people in a bad way. I completely agree with that statement because it sways potential customers to buy more than they require and also gives misinformation.

One reason why people are being persuaded by ads is the fact that it convinces the users to buy unnecessary items. People often get manipulated by the alluring TV commercials and advertising agencies falsely make them believe that their every product is crucial to run their routine work. As a result, people tend to buy such items even if they are readily available at their home. For example, a recent survey by the Times magazine showed that about 90% of existing iphone users have upgraded to a newer version of the phone just by watching its persuasive ads.

Another reason why adverts negatively influence people is that it usually gives false information to its viewers. This is because the main aim of any advertising campaign is to sell more to its customers, regardless of the quality of the product. Consequently, such ad agency does not consider the ethical part of selling and thus misguides the users by giving non- genuine information. For instance, an H and S shampoo company’s ad shows re-growing of hair on a bald person’s head within a few days of its use, which in fact is impossible according to dermatologists.

To conclude, there is a negative influence of commercials on people because they convince people to purchase extra items as well as give wrong information about the product. In future, Governments will have a higher control over these adverts in order to stop their misconduct.