The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amounts of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the renovation of ancient buildings cost a huge budget, it is better to construct new houses and roads from that fund. I totally disagree with that statement because protection of such buildings not only develops a sense of patriotism but also flourishes economy of the country.

The ancient monuments should be refurbished because it gives a sense of pride for citizens towards their nation. The old forts, monuments, and dwellings depict the history of a country and this raises love and respect not only towards the country but also among people. For example, there were a lot of riots among people in the Vatican City but after the Government restored the ancient buildings, people developed a sense of friendship and subsequently the conflict among citizens got reduced.

Another reason why the archaic buildings should be restored is the fact that it makes the country economically prosperous. These monuments are a great place for sight-seeing, enjoyment and it attracts a huge influx of not only internal but also foreign tourists. This, as a result, creates job opportunities for a number of people and thus uplifts the prosperity of the country. For instance, a recent report submitted by Nepal Tourism Board showed that tourism contributes about 90% of the budget of Nepal Government.

In conclusion, it is a good idea to restore the ancient buildings of the country as it not only develops love of the countrymen towards the country but also helps the nation to flourish economically. In future, I believe that many governments would preserve antique buildings despite the budget associated with it.