Advertisements have impacted our modern world. Discuss the
advantages and disadvantages of advertisements.
There is no doubt that advertisements are widespread nowadays, by leaps and bounds. They have a
gigantic effect on the community. Some are of the belief that adverts are useful, whilst others have a
diverse view. The benefits and drawbacks will be discussed below.
On the one hand, the vast spread of ads like tv commercials, radio advertising, billboard, and social
media sponsored posts are beneficial. In spite of the cost of producing ads, they raise the
competition of improving the quality of products and specs, and they are the major determinant of
the sales forecast. McDonald's, for example, invested around fifteen million dollars last year on a
survey campaign to identify consumer’s satisfaction, Guardians published. It is believed that
advertisements have benefits on the global economy, which increases job opportunities for youth
and decreases unemployment.
On the other hand, many advertisements mislead people to buy their product which sometimes is
harmful in some or the other way, doesn’t give the quality or type of product that is promised in
advertising, luring customers by discounts but offering them degraded quality. In addition, the cost of
products increased, because of the cost of producing ads. Nowadays, companies use social media
to cheat society. For example, a nutrition company, which creates bodybuilding supplements,
deceived the customers by offering fifty percent sale on clearance products, that will expire in six
months. Governments should monitor the quality of the products and cost to save their societies.
As we have seen, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, it is believed
that the merits of advertisements on mankind are more than demerits, but it should be controlled for
a better globe.