For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’ How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

Certainely a very interesting question has come in today's discussion. To define the importance of music over reading and writing is not feasible since they both are indispensable attributes in the children growth especially during the early stage of their life. I strongly believe that learning a musical instrument brings darastic changes in the over all growth and development of the children in 2-3 months.

Firstly, if we persist the children to put their concentration and energies towards only reading and writing then it would rather become more montonous and less enthusiastic for them. It can make the childrens either more frustrated or perhaps commit a sucide because of their inability to cope up with exams, peer pressures and family etc.

However, Childrens should be encouraged to practice music as it improves their cognitive process of the brain and helps them to develop the attention especially of the young pupil. Furthermore, it helps them to complete the homework on their own without seeking a help of the tutor. For example, children who practice music on a daily basis avoid the mistake of redundancy in their homework. Furthermore, these kids become a better decision maker by helping their parents to cut down on the unnecessary household items. Secondly, it improves their ability of reading comprehension passages where they can easily scan and skim the text to find the right answers.

To conclude, I have no doubt in saying that by learning music children can become more attentive and sharp which can help them to excel not only in their academia life but also in personal life.