All societies have their own music and art In what way are music and art important for society and for the individual

It is irrefutable that each and every country is blessed with its own traditional music and art. Although art and music are a vital part of culture in many societies, they are also essential for an individual in terms of igniting creativity as well as acting as a means of inspiration. This essay will discuss how music and art are crucial for society and for the individual.

Looking firstly at the roles of music, it is considered as an indispensable part of the society. This is because, traditional music is an integral part of a country’s cultural heritage, which represents the uniqueness of a nation and distinguish it from the rest of the world. Bangladesh, for example, has its own traditional music known as “Baul song” that depicts the country’s spiritual and devotional side. Consequently, music has the unique ability to unite people regardless of age, gender and social divides. As for the individual, music can be a great source of inspiration and motivation to them. In other words, a vast majority of people resort to music when they are feeling depressed and lonely. A recent study conducted in a renowned university published that music can help to reduce stress and anxiety and aid people to find relief from pain. Hence, it can be said that music has a soothing effect on an individual.

With regards to art, it also teaches people about their own culture and history. The reason for this is that a wide range of art collection is stored in the museum, which imparts the knowledge of a country’s historical events as well as its customs and beliefs to the visitors. In addition to that, art industries of some countries play a significant role in its economy by attracting tourist from all over the world. For instance, Italy earns a lot of revenue every year from its art gallery and museum, which accounts for nearly half of its total income from tourists. Moreover, art helps people to express their ideas, feelings and thoughts. It is observed that children who are into arts are more creative and superior in decision making skills compared to their peers.

In conclusion, it is quiet evident that art and music are inextricably linked to our culture and heritage. The impact they have on our society and the individual is immense and profound. The role of art and music being a nation’s cultural identity and inspiring people by various means cannot be denied.