Allow for 40 minutes to complete this task.

Compose an essay on the following:

Some people believe that television is a powerful educational tool. Other people believe that television is nothing more than mindless entertainment and should be discouraged.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Provide examples and supporting evidence to back up your opinion on this subject.

Write 250 words or more.

It seems that television is ever-present in our society. Perhaps because of its popularity, there are widely differing views as to whether the medium of television is a positive force or a negative force in society.

On the plus side, there is a commonly heard view that television is of great importance to society as it acts as an educational tool for the general public. Television, it is argued, makes the boring exciting through its ability to engage us with both sound and visual stimulation. People respond well to the visual story‐telling power of fast‐paced television programmes and are better able to retain the knowledge learned through the experience. The use of television programmes to teach children how to read and write is a good example of this.

Alternatively, some people believe that television is nothing more than mindless entertainment. Such people argue that television acts as a substitute for real learning. That instead of absorbing information at one’s speed through the medium of reading, such as, one is force‐fed the briefest of information at a fast‐pace, making in-depth analysis difficult. An example of this would be the comparison between television news and a newspaper. A newspaper can be read and absorbed at one’s own pace and can go into greater depth than television.

In conclusion, then, one can see that the rapid superficiality of television is, in fact, no substitute for in‐depth coverage provided by other media, such as the written form.