Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

These days even though there has been a rise in the number of people that prefer reading the news on the internet, some school of thought believe that newspapers will continue to be main medium of news. In my opinion, I disagree with this belief as news is quickly available on the internet and also their authenticity can be verified.

To begin with, when an incident occurs the article is first published on the internet. Thus, people can be updated with latest happenings on real time basis. Whereas on the other hand, there is a delay with regards to newspaper as the news will be reflected next day. Secondly, in this fast paced world and with technology gaining popularity many read the news on their phones rather than buying a newspaper. For example, if a safety warning has to be issued in case of a natural calamity it is done via the internet since it has a wider reach and evacuation procedures can be carried out immediately. Therefore, due to it's convenience and quick turnaround, people rely on the internet.

Moreover, currently there are a number of news channels available on the internet and due to the cut throat competition, all of them aim to be the first to report any breaking news. This is advantageous to the audience, who can always compare them with another source if any fact has been wrongly reported. Conversely, when a newspaper makes an error, the consumers will be unaware and they can rectify the same only in the next day's issue. Consequently, news on the internet is more reliable as any misleading information can cost them a major setback.

To recapitulate, the trend of people using internet as a source of being informed instead of the newspaper is slowly and steadily increasing mainly due to its speedy reporting and easily comparable nature. Nowadays newspaper may not be the most dependable carrier of news.