The best way to deal with rising problem of traffic and transportation is by encouraging people to live in cities rather than in suburbs and countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that problems related to traffic and transportation can be eradicated if people settle down in cities from countryside areas. However, I think it will multiply the issue rather than resolving it. Urbanization brings a lot more traffic problems to cities because of increase in urban population, more transport services are required to facilitate people.

Urbanization means there will be more vehicles in cities as people from different age groups will need them to move around. In order to complete their tasks and responsibilities, residents of cities require vehicles like cars and buses, for instance, to carry out their jobs, education, and festivals. This will augment the traffic congestion on roads instead of decreasing it. In addition, if urbanization will speed up, urban area will expand for sure which means further development of infrastructure will be required. This development of roads and housing will burden existing roads. Heavy Lorries, for example, loaded with construction materials can cause chaotic situation in old parts of cities. Therefore, encouraging people to settle down in urban areas will produce counter results.

Notwithstanding the idea of urbanization, I think rural and countryside area should be developed both economically and physically. If employment opportunities were provided there, inhabitants of those areas would not travel to cities to seek jobs. This would reduce demand of more buses and taxis from transportation sector. Also, as long as these areas are equipped with facilities like schools, colleges, parks, entertainment sources, people would not visit cities time and again. By reducing number of trips, transport needs can be easily fulfilled and traffic crowding will not be seen in cities.

To conclude, after transforming suburbs in self-sufficient commercial and industrial hubs, traffic and transport based issues can be solved in already existed cities. Whereas, encouraging people to shift to cities from suburbs will amplify the issue.