The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over.

What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true?

What can be done now to deal with this situation?

While statistics suggest that there will be a sharp decline in the birth rates in the developing countries in the next 50 years, it is predicted that more than 33% of these societies will be consist of senior citizens aged 65 or more. These predictions, if they come true, going to change the economy of these countries drastically, yet there are still some measures that authorities could take to mitigate these problems.

Developing countries will have two main challenges due to this phenomenon. Firstly, the industry would suffer negatively since firms and factories should run under the full-capacity due to lack of workforces. For example, developed countries, such as Germany, have started immigration plans to invite young skilled workers from developing countries since these countries are getting older and the supply of new employees in the job market is not enough to match with the high demands of thriving companies. Secondly, with people getting older and mounting costs of healthcare systems, governments and pension funds need to allocate more money to take care of these demographics. On the other hand, the number of working forces will be decreased, which means that the industry would work under capacity with fewer taxpayers to cover the budget of governments. These challenges would be a high burden on the economies of developing countries.

However, there are still measures that politicians could take to tackle these issues. Firstly, they should start more initiatives to invite young couple to have children. Authorities could impose new laws to increase maternity leaves, decrease costs of childcare for working parents and give money to families for a new child. Secondly, developing countries should establish efficient immigration systems to invite high-skilled workers from developing or third-world nations. Canada, as an example, has well-established immigration programs, which accept interested candidates from all around the world with efficient systems to fill the country's urgent and long-term needs.

In conclusion, the decreasing birth rate in the developed countries will have adverse effects on these economies; however, countries could have viable alternatives to mitigate the risks.