Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people, who lost their jobs because of it.

It is true that online shopping has become a norm in the society these days; however, there is a controversial debate regarding the long-term consequences of this trend on the environment and unemployed people, who lost their jobs due to this widespread phenomenon. This essay will discuss possible impacts on both the environment and people.

Online shopping has adverse effects on the environment by changing the pattern of behaviors among consumers. In fact, online shopping makes purchases more convenient, which indirectly leads to consumerism with people over purchase unnecessary products. Before, individuals were restricted to purchase from local stores, which were mostly provided limited products; however, by the advent of the technology and emerge of prestigious websites such as Amazon or Alibaba, there are countless choices available for costumers in even inaccessible locations. The availability and convenience as well as different marketing schemes on these websites, such as purchasing in bulk, fast delivery or fake discount, have encouraged people to buy unnecessary products. After all, the environment must absorb mounting wastes produced by the new consumer culture.

This trend also has a negative effect on local businesses. Firstly, local shops must close their shops since they could not compete with online shops which offer wide range of products at a better price. Therefore, not only local business owners would lose their investment in their establishment, but also workers would lose their job, leading to an increase in the unemployment rate in those locations. Secondly, these shops were a place that local business, such as farmers or artists, could sell their products. Closing these shops would lead to devastating effects on local businesses, and force unemployed people to relocate from small towns to big cities in search of jobs.

Overall, the long-term effects of online shopping are negative both on the environment, by encouraging people to buy more products, and on people, especially on local business which lose their customers.