Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular Discuss the impact of it on the environment and on people who lost their jobs because of it

Online shopping applications and websites have gained a lot of attention recently. More and more people prefer to buy things online rather than visiting shops or stores. As the service providers offers free delivery and exchange policies, it has resulted into more environmental damage due to increase of carbon footprint. Also, because of such practice unemployment has struck the market, as many big stores had to cut down manpower to compensate their loss in business.

With the advent of technology, online shopping is made easy. So instead of going to the store, people often prefer to buy things online that is delivered to them at their doorstep. All these online sites provides their customer with free deliveries as well as cost free exchange policies, to which people often misuse. This can be said as sometimes people make multiple number of small order instead of one single order. Secondly, when buying clothes online, people tend to buy two different size of a particular outfit, and then return the unfit one. This leads to more damage to the environment in terms of carbon emission by the vehicles used to provide at home deliveries.

On the other hand, such online stores do not need any work force, due to which a lot of job opportunities have been cut down. Also, the big stores or malls that were able to provide employment to hundreds of people, but because of this online trend many stores had been shut down due to loss in business. And, therefore lot of jobs are lost. Even though these online service providers needs delivery person, but the number of people required are limited and have certain criteria which do not benefit a lot of labour workers. For example, to work as a delivery man, a person has needs to have his own a vehicle.

In conclusion, even though online shopping save a lot of time of people. The disadvantages that it has on the environment will affect our survival in a long run. And, the unemployment is making more people jobless affecting the nations economy.