car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "One big traffic jam" how true do you think this statement is?

what measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars

Technology has made the production of cars cheaper and affordable that everyone can at least afford one. I agree that this has increased traffic jam in this recent years and that government can control this problem by considering a number of measures.

Firstly, the should encourage the use of public transport. This will help reduce the number of cars on the road at a given time. Also, it will help, if the transport fare is reduced to encourage the masses to join public buses. It's also necessary that they create more bus stops and make preparation to introduce train and tram to the people to make life less stressful.

Secondly, the taxes on new vehicles should be increased to discourage people from purchasing new cars. This will help reduce the cars on the road. The more cars on the road the more congested the city will look. For instance, the third mainland bridge in Lagos, we have over three hundred cars on it every morning. As a result of this traffic, we spend double the normal time to get to our destination.

Also, another approach is to move some of the big shopping malls and markets to satilite towns. Moving Shoprite, The Games, Mr price and Balogun market to outskirt of town will help reduce the number of automobile that come into town. In addition, build more parking lots for cars going in and out of this malls, to help reduce the traffic on the road caused by cars at the entrance of this places.

In conclusion, it will be nice to get rid of traffic jams on our roads. To achieve this, government should encourage the use of public transports, impose levies on personal cars and as well, move some of the markets and shopping malls to the suburbs.