Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years in the world that many cities now are "one big traffic jam". Do you think that this statement is true? What measure can government take to address this problem?

Past three decades have seen exponential surge in number of cars on the road in most of the cities in the world. As an outcome of this, traffic jam is one of the major concerns which urban world sneers at. However, government can certainly take steps such as increase in car prices, efficient local transport to curb this concern.

Big cities like Mumbai, Shanghai, London have been deplorably affected because of traffic jams. Regular honking with traffic movement at snarl’s pace is a regular feature without which day looks incomplete. Importantly, rising population in metropolitan cities acts as a lubricant in the machinery converting the cities into nothing more than a traffic jam. It further increases the cost and time to travel in such cities. Additionally, underdeveloped local transport system is not only unable to sustain as an alternate mode of commute for the public but also forces people to choose personal car over the public transport.

To solve this grave problem, government can deploy solutions like strengthened local transport system, increased car and fuel prices and enacting strict laws around more than one car purchase per family. This would make people think before buying and using the car thereby reducing the menace. To exemplify, Singapore has beautifully depicted to the world, the efficient transport infrastructure set up in terms of connectivity and reach further reducing burden from self and society. Such measures would not only instil faith in government but also would resolve the problem.

In conclusion, all round the world, rampant rise in cars have led to increased traffic jams. This fact is evident in major metro cities across the globe. This burden can be controlled by strengthening infrastructure, improving connectivity and slowing down the car sales.