Some people think that the government should decide the subject for students to study in university. Others believe that students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Power to select subjects to be studied by students should lie with students or government? This topic is becoming increasingly controversial. Although some believe that the government is the right authority to choose while others debate it should be with the students itself. This essay will discuss why the option to choose subjects should be with the students but why government should be an overall superior choice.

Nowadays, people feel that students are knowledgeable enough to decide on what they want to study. They are not only aware of the suitable career options but also they know the means to achieve. For instance, with advent of social media they are so well connected with college seniors and expert teachers around the globe that all the latest developments in their field are well known to them. Overall, most of the students are intelligent enough to understand which direction they are heading.

On the other hand, few believe that government is the right authority to decide the subjects. Importantly experts quote that the government not only has experienced and mature people to take this decision but also they are well equipped with developments happening in each and every field of study around the world. Moreover, government needs to ensure availability of the talent in various fields to control the unemployment rate. For example, Government of India has increased the courses related to agriculture field to meet the expected demand of talent in future. Government’s exposure and experience gives them edge over the students to decide.

To conclude, selection of subjects by government or students itself continues to be a debatable topic. This essay discussed why this right to students is apt but why giving that power to the government is a superior choice. In my opinion, government has better exposure and understanding than students to decide what future generation should learn