Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Television in present has become part of our lifestyle, with everyone from age old to kids watching it to see channels of their interest. Having plethora of channels give everyone vide array of options from Entertainment, Music, Movies, NEWS, Health, Sports, Knowledge, Religious, etc.., which ensure no one left behind untouched. In this topic, where we are discussing if Television replace the book as learning tool, because of which children are less well- educated today, I share both positive and negatives of this electronic mean, supporting my acceptance that Television cannot replace Book, but equally not supporting that children are less educated today because of it.

Television was introduced as visual mean of entertaining and updating people with current affairs. However, in modern time, it brought bouquet of services including Channels, Interactive applications, etc. with no restriction on content. My support for Text books as non-replacement is for the reason that text books, call concentration of reader and help him align his mind to subject he is reading. Learning only through television doesn’t bring that physical bonding with subject as we get with books in hand and many times, learner deviate from his actual subject and loses concentration.

In contrast, I do not support belief that children these days are less-educated compare to earlier time. Education is not just reading what is written, published or taught in school. Education is overall development of child. Television as learning mean helps student to visualise content he is reading or has read and give him near practical feel of event, giving him better understanding of subject. Also, with wide array of information and multiple informative content on channels available, kid can get opportunity to learn global information, much more than his existing circle. This help young kid to create interest in new field unknown to existing piers.

Every technology comes with positive and negatives and it is on us how we use that technology. We can use Nuclear to create war and same to treat human kind. Similarly, we can use Television as supportive mean of education without replacing Books, but equally must not blame this technology for its negatives, if we deviate from subject to other entertainment content. I will compile this subject supporting books as primary mode of knowledge with Television as supportive, without blaming any for measuring level of education.