Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Although television is considered as a pivotal source for children to learn through entertainment in the present time, what I believe is that books are irreplaceable with television in terms of kids’ overall education and learning. The following paragraphs will articulate how books are more beneficial for the current generation comparing to television before reaching a reasoned conclusion.

To start with, books have an edge over television because they are a warehouse of information, and one can not only grasp the knowledge inside it but can also enhance language proficiency by exploring different language editions. By doing this, children would be familiar with different vocabulary and sentence structures of that language. In my country, India as an example, most of the parents make their offspring read English storybooks to stimulate their child’s English language capabilities. Thus, books help in the linguistic competency of readers that undoubtedly lead to be an asset for the future life of children.

Moreover, books offer precise and detailed information for the reader’s maximum contentment and provide deep learning of a particular topic or subject. In this way, books, in fact, contribute to explicit understanding and the complete education of children. In addition, books relate and illustrate distinct cultures, traditions, and behaviors to pupils that pave the way for better social education. On the other hand, television programs are full of violence and aggression nowadays. Hence, well-educated is correlated to the whole education including moral and social learning that is fulfilled by books only.

In conclusion, considering the aforementioned positive aspects of book reading, I completely agree with the statement that television cannot replace the book as a learning tool for linguistic capabilities, completeness, and social behavior.