Children obesity is an increasing problem in Australia.As many as two thirds of children are now obese.Schools have a responsibility to monitor what their students seat and the amount of exercise they do.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity in the younger generations is becoming increasingly problematic, especially in Australia where approximately 33% of children suffer from the preventable disease.Some people suggested that schools should be responsible for the prevention and treatment of their student's weight issues by monitoring their food intake and exercise output. This essay will discuss why I completely disagree with the proposition because it is far too draconian.

The main reason why Australian schools should not monitor their student's food intake and exercise output is because it is not their job; it is the job of the parents. Schools are responsible for education, and they can certainly educate children on the value of nutrition and exercise, but watching what they eat and how much they exercise is not in their purview. For example, it would be far too invasive for a teacher to ask students what they have been eating at home and how much they have been exercising. This would lead to all sorts of problems with parents and teachers even though it may yield results. In short, parents should remain responsible for raising their children healthily while schools should focus on educating them.

A secondary reason why schools should not meddle with children's diets and exercise regimes is because it may have negative psychological impacts on the students themselves. Although teachers are excellent role models for children, again, it is not their role to monitor their health. If a teacher were to single out a student for being overweight, for instance, it could have profound negative effects on the student including isolating them from their peers and promoting bullying. Even if a student is obese, a teacher should not reference this in the classroom and certainly not ask them about their eating and exercise habits. Clearly, this is a bad idea.

This essay discussed why schools should not be part of a child's prevention or treatment for obesity because it is not their role and it may cause mental problems for the child at hand. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the proposition that childhood obesity is a responsibility of schools.