Since population is rapidly increasing in the world, there is an acute shortage of houses in the big cities. Should we construct multistory buildings in the existing cities or should we develop suburbs and new cities in the countryside? Give your opinion.

Because of rapid growth in the population, there has been an acute shortage of living accommodation in the big cities. Since the big cities offer more job opportunities, many people from various places are attracted to them. Therefore, every available area in the big city is used to accommodate the rising population as well as the migrants. The migrant laborers occupy every vacant place in the big cities and set up slums there. It creates insanitary conditions, traffic jams and also causes shortage of water and electricity.

To solve this problem, some people suggest that multistory buildings should be built in the large cities. The high-rising buildings require less land their construction is less costly. They also provide compact and safe living. But multistory buildings have their own problems.Living there is full of noise, disturbance and interference. There is less privacy. These buildings are less airy and sunny, and also cause parking problems. They are also potential fire hazards. Moreover, more people means more vehicles and more pollution and traffic jams.

On the other hand, if we develop suburbs or new cities, they give us the feeling of independent and open living. Individual houses are airy and sunny.People can grow lawns and plant trees, and other plants which are good of environment and health. They can enjoy privacy and peace of mind. But the disadvantages are they decrease the agricultural land and forests, and are much more costlier than the multistory buildings.

In my opinion, developing new cities or suburbs is better than building the tall buildings. New cities can provide more facilities like wider roads, more green areas, and ample place for parking and other things. In new cities, the pollution levels are also less. There can also be 2-3 story cheap houses for the poor to avoid the development of slum areas. Such cities will solve the problem of the shortage of houses in the big cities and will also reduce the chaos in them.