Children today are too dependent on computers and electronic entertainment. It would be better for them to be outside playing sports and taking part in more traditional pastimes than spending all day indoors. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Considering a ubiquitous fact, which is irrefutable, majority of children are glued to their computer or cellphone these days. This is not a positive development because when children spend the day playing games on their computer or gaming console, they would develop many health problems. They may even develop behavioral problems. In my opinion, it is more beneficial for children to spend time outdoors playing sports or engaging in other activities.

On the one hand, undoubtedly outdoor games are good for children, owing to the fact, they make them fitter and stronger as people. Children who play such games are healthier. They are also less likely to engage in antisocial activities. Better still, outdoor games require the participation of more than one person. When children play games such as football or cricket, they are also learning several social and management skills. As a result, they learn to share and work as part of a team.

On the other hand, children who spend the time indoors will most probably spend several hours in front of the TV or computer. This may lead to several health problems such as obesity and diabetes. These children may also find it difficult to interact with others. Also, when they spend a lot of time on their computer, they are more likely to be exposed to inappropriate materials on the internet. All of these factors can have an adverse impact on their physical and psychological well-being.

To end, it is not hard to see that there are several benefits to engaging in outdoor activities. Parents ought not to allow children to waste their whole time in front of the TV or computer. Even in those families where both parents are away at work, progenitors can use software programs to limit their children’s exposure to television and the internet.