Companies should provide sports and social facilities for local communities. To what extent do you agree?

It has been a contentious issue whether industries are ought to render recreational facilities to local residents. This essay completely agrees with the view that companies are entitled to provide sports and public places as it would compensate for the damage they have done as well as create a conducive environment for the people.

As setting up a company takes up a substantial amount of land, it is imperative for companies to compensate for this geographical toll. Apparently, when any industry is set up, it usually takes away a lot of land which could have been utilized for the local community for recreational purposes. In order to pay them back to the community, companies have to build recreational centre so that people are not bereft of such facilities. Tata Steel, for instance, has built numerous public parks and meeting centres as compensation for the land resources they have required which maintains harmony with the local communities.

Apart from this, by building leisure complexes for the local people companies can over the harsh criticism they come across that might yield long term benefits for the business. In other words, if a business gets positive feedback from its locality and the census among people is on the good side, such business will procure more revenue as a result of increased productivity. For example, Papermate, a company that makes notebooks, spends 5% of its profit on establishing sports centres resulting in better political and financial standing.

In conclusion, this essay entirely agrees with the notion of companies constructing social and recreational centres for local residents as a reimburse for what they are taking along with a diplomatic decision to sustain the long run.