Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.

• comics • books • radio • television • film • theatre

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge

In this modern world, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on the effectiveness of the communication method. Different people prefer different communicational channels as their medium of getting information. In this essay, I shall discuss on the positive and negative aspects of each media to greater extent.

First and foremost, we will discuss about books which we can use to acquire knowledge on various subjects from medical science to aesthetic subjects. People can visualize things by reading books and it creates the avenue for innovations. Besides that, people can keep books for future refernces and it is portable as well. Therefore, books can play a pivotol role in providing information to the society. The drawbacks of books are the cost, because it is relatively higher than the other methods of information.

When we consider about radio, it is one of the fastest method to deal in emergency situations. But, in some ocassions it is difficult to transmit information to different areas due to technical issues. When we consider about televsion it is the most important and efficient way in communicating information because this medium enables to see the visuals of a particular scenario. Television, is also considered to be a reliable source of communication because it has to report with the visuals. For example, most of the organizations who engages in food and beverage business uses television and radio to advertise their products due to it’s influential power on human purchasing behavior.

Apart from that, cinemas, theatres and comic can be used to inculcate messages in people’s mind. These kind of mediums can only cater to a selective segment of people, because only less number of people used to visit cinemas. Comics can be used to convey strong messages in a smooth way.

In conclusion, it is recommended to use television and radio in communication either to make awareness or to distribute information among general public, irrespective of the cost involved in advertising.