Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In the world of today, it is admitted that people are living in a highly sophisticated marketing world. While there is a handful of reasons showing that advertisements are having adversely influences on their own customers, some quick fixes can be proposed to deal with the issue.

There is no doubt that advertisements have detrimental effects on consumers. First of all, a lot of adverts create artificial needs. In fact, there have been a lot of people spent a great deal of money to buy goods impulsively, after being attracted by impressive and persuasive adverts. For instance, many adverts of weight-controlling medicines have been trying to create an illusion for customers that they are all overweight and just simply taking a few doses of those products, then a well-balanced body will be within hand's reach. Secondly, it is obvious that people are often swayed by advertisements. Indeed, they often buy things because of the power, success and glamour associated with them. Enterprises always take advantage of this point to boost their sales by promoting their brand's image with a high-end reputation or sticking their images with celebrities, like Nike with Christiano Ronaldo. Another point worth mentioning is that there is no exception for children to be impacted by advertisements, as they are extremely vulnerable. The fact that adverts push children to pester their parents to make a purchase on things shown on TV and social media may directly lead to financial burdens on many families' shoulders.

Nevertheless, there are some ways to tackle this problematic issue. The first solution for this situation is that the government should exert more control over advertising contents, as well as stipulate and implement strict consumer protection laws and regulations. In fact, not only this way help to release pressure for consumers, but it also acts as a detergent preventing businesses from doing over-marketing. Another way to combat the issue is customers should have self-protection. To be more specific, consumers should develop an understanding of the product that they are searching for and how it is valued, as well as build sufficient personal cognitive defenses to protect themselves against advertisers' persuasion attempts. Last but not least, parents and schools also should act cooperatively to give instructive guidance to their children by discussing and explaining the persuasive intent of advertisers. Besides, restricting and supervising regularly the amount or kind of content that their kids view is also an effective solution needed to be taken into consideration.

In conclusion, if the aforementioned solutions are implemented and applied to deal with the strong development of advertising, the considerable influences of advertising on consumers could be mitigated to some extent.